“Eating for Two”

When I first started high school , I became one of those students who definitely gained the “freshman 15”. I was insecure and didn’t feel comfortable in my body. Shortly after starting the 10th grade, I convinced my mom to home school me (for various reasons) and it was the best decision I ever made.

Through mostly being around my family, adults, and only true friends, the people who loved me for who I am, I became secure again. I realized that it didn’t matter what my body looked like and that I was beautiful no matter what. As I became happier within myself, the outside of me started to look happier too. I wasn’t trying to lose weight and I wasn’t even really attempting to exercise. I was simply being active out of happiness and had stopped coming home from school and “pigging out” after a crappy day.

Since then, I have remained in that state of mind. My body isn’t perfect, but it does what I need it to do and in return I try to treat it well. Now I’m not saying that I don’t enjoy the occasional McNuggets or Chik-Fil-A. I definitely do. My husband and I go out to eat and I’m not always the best at staying away from carbs (which I believe are very unhealthy for you and shouldn’t be a party of your daily diet at all). But I do try to eat as healthy as possible for my body.

Well, the day I found out I was pregnant my whole mindset changed. While there is that little twinge in the back of my mind that is scared of gaining a lot of weight, I am mostly thinking about what I am feeding the baby. I do track my weight week to week and have so far gained about 8 lbs, which is pretty decent for 16 weeks. I exercise 5 times a week and love how strong it makes me feel. It actually energizes me to get things done around the house.

My first trimester, I felt pretty crappy all the time. I was always nauseous and couldn’t really stomach anything except crackers and Ramen noodles. So entering my second trimester felt really great because I started to fell like myself again. Well, as much as I can feel like myself (I’ve actually never felt so weird in my life). I was excited to start eating healthy again and actually having the energy to make dinner. And although I still go get the occasional fast food and eat the occasional carb, I am confident that what I am putting into my body is good for me and Everleigh to grow on.

So, in an attempt to show other mamas that you don’t have to be like the movies and eat gallons of ice cream every night and that you also don’t have to eat rabbit food to steadily gain weight…I thought I would share my daily eatings with you (yes, even the unhealthy stuff) and let you know what exercise I do each day.

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

