Finding Out

It started like any other day. I got up, got ready for school, ate breakfast, headed out the door, got my morning cup of coffee, and spent my day doing what I do every day. When I got home, I told my husband I was late, but we didn’t really think anything of it. After all, we weren’t trying and we just thought it wouldn’t happen.

As the night went on, I got a little more curious. So, to ease my mind, we went to get a pregnancy test. I was pretty sure nothing would come of it and the results would most likely leave me wondering where Mother Nature was rather than how to raise a child. Boy was I wrong!

I drank an the entirety of a large McDonald’s sweet tea then took a shower to be sure I had to pee. Afterwards, I ripped open the test, peed on it, and immediately things started happening. In the midst of all my anxiety I had somehow forgotten to read the directions (I NEVER do this! haha) and had no idea what I was staring at. As I read what it meant….two blue lines=pregnant…I realized that there were, indeed, two blue lines staring back at me. I couldn’t pick my jaw up off the floor.

I walked into our bedroom, mouth wide open and simply handed the test to my husband. He asked what it meant and I told him to read and then his eyes lit up. I said “Oh my gosh!” about 20 times in a row and we gave each other a little high five for a our unexpected surprise awesome accomplishment.

We were to be parents. Parents. Mom. Dad. Woah. Woah…Like Woah woah.

Scared, excited, scared, excited. Those were the emotions I felt within the span of maybe 10 minutes.

Then came telling people. We planned to wait until my sister had her daughter-to-be, which was supposed to be anytime soon. She took a little too long and the words were on the tip of our tongues so we decided to forgo the worries of having a miscarriage and just speak positivity into the life of our little one, a very important moral to us. We told my sister first, then my mom (terrifying experience…even when you’re married!), then my dad (hey dad, guess what, I’m pregnant, awesome, huh? LOL), then everyone else. We were relieved that everyone was ecstatic over the news and spent the rest of the night in a dreamy haze of joy.

We are to be parents. Mom. Dad. Woah.

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

