Maternity Clothes: Why Did I Wait?

Last week I went shopping and came across a pair of maternity shorts. I decided to bring them in the dressing room with me just to try them. Little did I know they would be the most comfortable pair of anything (besides yoga pants) that ever graced my body.

I decided that now was the time for maternity clothes. I ended up buying 4 maternity shirts (2 tees and 2 blouses), 1 maternity cami, 2 pairs of maternity shorts and 1 pair of maternity jeans. My total cost was about $120 (I shopped sales).

Before I bought maternity clothes I was just starting to grow out of my pre-pregnancy clothes and just starting to feel like my body was growing in odd ways. And between all the shirt gaping and jeans tightening, I was feeling pretty insecure.

Then came maternity clothes! Most women I know have always dreaded getting into them and wanted to stay in their pre-pregnancy clothes as long as possible. Well, if I have any advice for those women, it would be to to just give in. Those clothes will now make you feel fat. They will cause you to embrace your bump and feel better about your changing body.

For me, these clothes hug my body in the way that my pre-pregnancy clothes hugged my pre-pregnancy body. I feel like myself again.

And this bump is growing and growing…and has more room to grow!

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

