The Scary Appointment & a Little Bed Rest

So yesterday I went to the high risk OB because of my 20 week anatomy scan. They suspected there were cysts on Ev’s kidney and wanted to get it checked further. My appointment was really early and I had to pick up my sister in law because she wanted to go. Ryan had school so he couldn’t go. We got there a little late because traffic was terrible, but I wasn’t seen for almost 2 hours anyway. I don’t even know why they make appointments. So once they called us back we went into a big ultrasound room. It was probably 4 times as big as the ones I’m used to and very dim. I was excited to see Everleigh again, but really nervous to hear the news. The kidneys were the last things they checked…they did, indeed, still have cysts. Three to be exact. The nurse handed me a TON of pictures (including a few 3D ones that Ev was barely cooperative for) and said that the doctor would be in to let me know my options.

I sat nervously waiting to hear what this meant for my little girl. When the doctor came in he seemed really optimistic. He looked at the pictures of her kidney and then said something that made my heart sink into my stomach. “Her kidney most likely won’t be functioning.”  This is probably one of the worst things you can hear as a parent. That a part of your child’s body is working properly. It terrified me, but I waited to hear the rest of what he had to say. He said that her working kidney was trying to make up for the other and had already grown bigger and stronger to compensate. That was a bit of a relief. He said he would set me up for an appointment with the Urologist who would see Everleigh after she’s born so I can find out more about what needs to be done later. He also told me that since they had found a calcium deposit in the valve of her heart (very common), that this paired with the blockage in the growth of her kidney made two markers that could indicate something is wrong chromosomal. He said that there’s most likely nothing wrong with her that the kidney is probably a sole issue, because the deposit is such a common thing. But just to be safe he wanted me to get an Amnio. I was terrified of this specific thing due to a fear of needles, but agreed for the sake of Ev.

I waited for the nurse to come in so I could sign the consent form. Once we were done, the doctor came back with all the supplies and told me to lay back. He painted my stomach with iodine while I picked a spot on the ceiling to stare at. He said I’d feel a little poke and then BAM! The most painful thing I have ever experienced. I felt the needle pop through my skin, then my muscle and then my uterus. For some reason in moments of pain or discomfort, I laugh. I’ve always been this way. I laughed through the whole ceremony at my wedding and sometimes a smile pops over my face when I hear something bad has happened. It’s a defense mechanism, I guess. It was so painful I was tensing up and trying so hard not to laugh…which just made it worse. It was hard to breathe, even though the nurse kept telling me to. I could feel as he sucked out the fluid into a big tube and it was so odd. The needle finally came out and I felt so much relief. They told me that I would be on bed rest for a few days and not to travel for at least 48 hours. I was a little numb after everything.

We left and immediately my mom called. I told her what happened and she seemed fine. She’s always so positive and makes me feel better. Then I dropped off my sister in law and called Ryan. He was a little upset, but okay. My sister, who’s a saint with these kinds of things, told me everything would be fine. My mother in law was really supportive, too. I went home with some McDonald’s and got in bed. After eating, I was totally drained and just needed a nap. I fell asleep and woke up about 4 hours later to my husband kissing my forehead. I was so happy to see him and gave him a big hug. He’s my rock in this situation and I don’t know what I’d do without him.

So in the meantime, I’ll be here in bed watching Grey’s Anatomy and praying for my little girl to come into this world healthy and strong.

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

