The Happiest Baby on the Block: My Lifesaver?

Yesterday, out of desperation, I Googled “how to soothe my crying baby”. Yes, I know. What kind of mother am I? haha

Well I came across something called The Happiest Baby on the Block. I started reading a little about it an immediately thought it was a load of bull. But, like I said, I was desperate so I decided to try it out.

The creator of the program has a theory that humans are born too early and that we should all spend 3 more months in the womb. Our survival relies on us having large brains and being smart so we have to come out cause our heads get too big. So a newborn is more like a fetus in its”4th trimester”. They crave the comfort of that environment that they spent so long in. He came up with the 5 S’s to recreate that environment.

The 5 S’s are:

1. Swaddle

2. Side/Stomach

3. Shake/Sway

4. Sussshhh

5. Suckle

The first is simple. Swaddle your baby. The creator notes that they will scream harder at this point because they do not know that this is what they want. Also, make sure that you swaddle them with their arms to their side. The second means that babies like to be on their sides or stomachs. It comforts them. So, hold them on their side, but more towards their stomachs. The third means to jiggle your babies head on your hand lightly like a plate of jello. It doesn’t take much. Number 4 basically means white noise. You can shush them with your mouth or with the white noise setting on a sound machine. The key is they it has to be as loud as or louder than their current level of crying or they can’t hear you. The fifth is as simple as it sounds. Use a binky, your finger, a bottle, or your nipple. Just give them something to suckle.

Okay, so I tried all of this. It took me a minute to get the swaddle down. And she screamed. Oh did she scream. I finally got it and then held her on her side. She didn’t stop screaming. I was now CONVINCED this was a load of bull. I laid her head on flat hand and jiggled it back and forth.She still didn’t stop. I shushed her. LOUD. It felt rude. She stopped screaming after about a minute of shushes. Amazing. My arm started to get tired so I laid her across my lap and, with my flat hand still under head head, I shook my leg up and down (sort of like when you have too much coffee). I gave her a binky for her to suckle. After about 10 minutes of this, she fell asleep. I waited about 5 more minutes and then got up and put her in her crib. I lay her on her stomach to sleep, but that’s a whole other blog post.

Anyway, the point of this story is that she slept for 2 straight hours…DURING THE DAY. This may not seem like much, but my little girl LOVES bedtime. It’s pretty much the only time shoe doesn’t fight her

sleep. I kept waiting for her to wake up and start fussing, but she didn’t. I drank my HOT cup of coffee and edited her V-day pictures. She woke up a few times, but would just look around and go back to sleep. Needless to say, I want to marry the creator of this program and I am going out tomorrow to get his book and DVD to become a baby soothing pro!

I suggest you look it up on YouTube and watch the video and then try it for yourself. If it doesn’t work the first time, try it again. It takes practice and I am getting better with each try. If you like it, go out and pick up his products. I bet you’ll find it worth the money.

Love,

jamie2

 

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Babies & Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

