Primal Jalapeno Poppers & Stuffed Bell Peppers

Last night in celebration of us starting our 30 day challenge…we decided to go with a primal dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

We’re not doing paleo because we really want to build muscle and always find ourselves losing a lot of weight when we do. Primal has more calories which is also good for me, because I’m breastfeeding. From what I’ve noticed Ev doesn’t have a super sensitivity to dairy unless I drink a giant glass of milk, but a little cheese doesn’t hurt. So here’s how I made it:

JALAPENO POPPERS:

I am doing enough for 2 servings

What you will need:

2 jalapenos

4 thick-cut pieces of bacon with no preservatives (i.e not smoked)

2 tbsp of full fat cream cheese

First cut the ends off of the peppers and cut in half. Seed them unless you really like spice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Then fill each jalapeno with 1/2 tbsp of cream cheese using a butter knife.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Wrap each one in a piece of bacon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cook on 350 for 20 minutes or until bacon is done. The longer you cook the peppers the spicier they will be.

For paleo eaters: Replace cream cheese with mashed avacado seasoned how you like.

 

STUFFED BELL PEPPERS

Again, enough for 2 servings

What you will need:

2 Bell peppers (I prefer colorful for extra nutrients

1 lb hot italian sausage

Sprinkle of shredded cheese

 

First cut the ends off the peppers, cut in half and seed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Next get an appropriately sized pan and add 1/2 in of water in the bottom and place your pepper halves face-to-face in the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Laying them flat like this will help the peppers cook faster.

 

Next brown your italian sausage. If it is in the casing squeeze it out and break it up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Then sprinkle with cheese.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Bake at 375 for 25 minutes or until peppers are soft and cheese is melted.

And viola!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

For Paleo eaters who can’t have cheese…add tomato paste to the meat and season for extra taste. I’ve had it this way and it’s awesome!

 

So that was our Primal dinner last night 😀

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

