Paleo Buffalo Chicken & Kale Chips

Last night Ryan was working at the hospital until 11 pm so I had to do something easy and quick and that could be stored in the fridge without getting gross.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The only thing that wasn’t paleo about this is that we dipped ours in sour cream (weird, I know…but REALLY good)

So here’s the recipes:

KALE CHIPS

What you will need:

1 head of kale

Olive Oil

Season salt (I used garlic & pepper salt)

First you take the head of kale and carefully cut it away from the stalk. I used kitchen scissors. Then tear it into bite sized pieces. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with season salt. Bake at 275 until nice and crispy like chips.

*If you wash your kale, do it the day before because they MUST be dry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are so YUMMY! I put our leftovers in ziplock baggies for snacks.

BUFFALO CHICKEN

What you will need:

2 Chicken breasts

Buffalo Sauce (sugar free)

1 Egg

Coconut flour

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Slice your chicken breast in half long ways

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then cut them into strips.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crack your egg into a bowl and put your coconut flour into a second bowl. I didn’t do a double coating but I think they would have been even better if I had.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dip each chicken strip into the egg and then roll in coconut flour. Repeat for a second coat of breading. Have a plate readytolaythem out on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You will want to rinse your fingers every 5 strips because your fingers will get caked with the flour and it can get too messy if you don’t.

Heat 3 tbsp of coconut oil in a large skillet of medium heat. You can also use olive oil or butter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Use tongs to drop each strip into the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Continue to flip each strip every 2 minutes until cooked through and browned.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Be careful while flipping them. The breading is fragile and will falloff if you scrape at it.

Toss in buffalo sauce, plate and you’re done. I have also made this recipe using almond flour and it tasted a little nuttier but the flour doesn’t stay on as well because ti’s chunkier.

Other ways I’ve used this recipe:

Buffalo Chicken “sandwich” topped with tomato, lettuce and paleo ranch.

Using wings for hot wings (you have to use a lot more oil this way)

Over salad.

So there you have it. Buffalo Chicken doesn’t have to be bad for you! Enjoy!

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

