How We Changed Our Diet

1017345_10201920149100392_370202627_n

The first step that we made in our natural living journey was changing our diet. When I was a young adult I was pretty lazy, enjoyed partying on a regular basis and ate like a typical teenager. It took a tremendous toll on my body. I got pregnant and had to drastically change my lifestyle, but I still didn’t eat healthy on a regular basis. My first revelation in natural living was having a natural birth. It was something I researched up and down and knew I wanted. I don’t believe that I took all of the necessary steps in having a natural birth. I took a class and read books and all that jazz, but I didn’t stay active or eat a healthy diet. I truly believe that it impacted my birth in a huge way. I still went all natural, but I was begging for an epidural, I was delirious from the pain and I couldn’t focus on getting through the birth…I was just really freaking out inside. After I had Everleigh, I decided it was time to change the way my family eats and the products that we use.

Changing our diet has been a very long journey…and we’re still working on it!

Here’s how we did it:

Take baby steps. We started by eating less sugar. I definitely learned that this does not include “sugar free” items. Products with that label are filled with a whole list of other problems. Instead we started replacing processed sugars with natural ones. In Mama Natural’s guide to being a natural mama, she suggests switching to things like raw honey and coconut sugar.

Here’s what we use:

Raw honey: I use this to top oatmeal, in recipes, on sandwiches, and in tea.

Real maple syrup: I use this on whole grain pancakes and waffles.

Costa Rica organic cane sugar: I don’t often use this, but when I do it’s usually for sauces or coffee.

The next step we took was completing the Whole 30. We started on January 1st of this year. We enjoyed it, felt better and lost weight (we paired it with a daily workout). After we completed it, we decided to go back to eating dairy and whole grains. I understand the principle of Paleo and do believe that it is a healthy lifestyle. We just started to feel really deprived and also believe that whole grains, beans, lentils and organic dairy is healthy. It just depends on you.

Here’s the whole grains we eat:

Whole grain bread: I usually get some sort of breakfast bread, some pita pockets and some regular whole grain bread from the farmers market. I look for things that have gluten free or organic flour and honey (not white sugar). I use them for lunches and toast for breakfast. I occasionally get whole grain burger buns and pasta.

We also eat lots of healthy fats, protien, veggies and fruits. Here’s how:

Protein: I always include protein in each meal. For breakfast that’s usually eggs or bacon, for lunch it’s beans, chicken or chia seeds, and for dinner it’s always meat.

Healthy fats: I use coconut and olive oil to cook with. We also eats lots of avocado and, occasionally, butter. For snacks we usually get healthy fats from nuts and trail mix.

Veggies: Every meal contains a veggie. Breakfast can be hard sometimes so I usually either scramble some eggs with spinach or make a veggie and fruit smoothies.

Fruits: We usually reserve fruits for snacks or a healthy desert. I often use them to boost my energy before a workout. We also make lots of smoothies using our Nutribullet.

Some other tips to a healthier diet are:

Look our for MSG and other unnatural ingredients in seasonings.

Sugar isn’t just found in cakes and cookies. It can be hidden in everything! Read your labels.

If it comes in a package, 99 percent of the time, you shouldn’t eat it. Again, read your labels.

And last but not least, choose healthy oils. Vegetable and canola oils are usually not good for you. Stick to walnut, avocado, olive, and coconut oils.

I hope this can help you on your journey to a healthier and more natural diet. I will be posting natural recipes so stay tuned!

Crunchy Mama

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

