How I Manage My Time With a Toddler Around

So we all know that it can be hard to manage your time when you have kids. It seems like most of your day is spent doing something for everyone else, and it is. It’s important that we get to everything we need to get done, and still have some time to ourselves. So here’s how I manage my time:

Morning Routine:

Having a routine is important. Especially in the morning.

When I wake up in the morning, the first thing I do is go get Everleigh from the crib, change her diaper and get her dressed and make her some breakfast. While she is eating I go back into my room,get myself dressed and brush my teeth. Once she is done I clean her up and take her into the playroom. She will usually stay and play by herself for a good twenty minutes. This gives me some time to make some coffee and get breakfast going for myself.

For breakfast, I try to choose something easy like Oatmeal with raw honey, fruit and nuts or a quick scrambled egg and avocado. This saves me time, but I still get a good meal in. Once I’m done eating I go in to spend some time with Everleigh. We usually read some books or chase each other around the room. If we’re feeling risky we might even have a tea party :). Once we’re done playing Everleigh usually wants a snack. While she is eating, I throw in a load of laundry, do any dishes from breakfast and sweep the floors. By this point it’s usually close to the afternoon.

Around 11:30 Everleigh goes down for a nap and Ryan comes home for lunch. I make something quick like sandwiches and fruit and we enjoy lunch together and usually watch a quick sitcom or talk.

Afternoon routine:

While Everleigh is still down for a nap, I try and get some cleaning done. If I do this daily,it usually only takes a few minutes of straightening. I just go through each room and put things where they belong and then go through for a quick vacuum. If I have time, I’ll check my email, respond to messages, do a little Facebooking and even watch a recorded show in the DVR. It all depends on how long she naps. Sometimes it’s only an hour and sometimes it’s 3.

Once Everleigh gets up it’s time for her lunch. Her lunches vary a lot, but they’re always something quick and easy. Leftovers from the night before work well or an almond/peanut butter sandwich,cheese, fruit and milk. I sit with her while she eats and talk, talk, talk. I like to take this time to talk to her about all kinds of things because she is sitting in one spot and I feel like she is listening better. We talk about her toys, Daddy, how her lunch is, and things like the cat or what we are going to do next.

When Everleigh is done eating I usually try and think of an activity to do. Sometimes that’s as simple as playing the “i build it,you knock it down game” where I try to build something with blocks really fast before she knocks it down (this gets some serious belly laughter) or as elaborate as trying to do a craft together. We usually spend an hour doing something like this. By now Ev is usually getting a little restless, but has dropped her second nap. Most of the time I just let her watch a little tv to calm down. When the weather is nice we spend some time on the porch or go to the little park in our complex. When we come back in it’s time to start dinner.

Evening routine:

I start dinner between 4-5 depending on what I’m making. Ryan gets home from work at 5 and spends some time with Ev while I get dinner finished up. Around 6, we all sit down together and eat. We talk about our days and laugh at what a picky eater we have.

Ryan and I switch of on kitchen duty and bedtime duty. One of us cleans the kitchen and the other gets Ev in the bath (if it’s bath night), gets her pajamas on, reads her a story and lays her down. She usually goes to bed around 7:30.

After she’s asleep, the evening is ours. Sometimes we watch shows or a movie,play a board game, sit on the porch and talk or just do our own thing. During this time I also pull out that load of laundry, fold it and put it away.

The time we go to bed varies, but it’s usually between 11 and 12.

Using this daily routine means I wake up to a fairly clean house and we always (usually) have clean clothes. I’m also certain that it gets harder the more children you have. haha

So tell me, mamas. How do you manage your time? Any great tips you can give on getting things done with little ones around? Any activities to keep the occupied? Post in the comments below!

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Babies & Kids, Our Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

