{Yummy Tortellini Soup Recipe}

I came across this recipe on Point of Grace’s Facebook page. I love cream based soups (and anything with pasta) so I decided to give it a try.

Here’s the original recipe:

3T olive oil
1 Clove garlic, minced
3 stalks celery, chopped
3 carrots, peeled & chopped
1 onion, diced
10 oz box frozen spinach
2 cans cream of chicken soup
2 cans water
32 oz chicken broth
Family sized package of tortellini (chicken or cheese), half cooked

1) add olive oil to a large stock pan
2) sauté garlic, onion, carrot and celery over medium heat until tender
3) add spinach
4) continue to cook until spinach is heated through
5) add cream of chicken & water
6) add chicken broth & tortellini
7 heat & serve

Here’s my version:

IMG_1302.JPG

I tweaked it a bit to make it just a tad healthier. I replaced the cream of chicken with 2 “cans” of heavy cream and seasoned well to make up for the lost salt. I also used organic veggies, fresh spinach and organic chicken broth.

The verdict:

It was a hit! I loved it, my husband loved it and my toddler even loved it! It was even better as leftovers for lunch today. I highly recommend this recipe.

Have you tried this soup? Do you plan to? Have any ideas to make it even better? Sound off in the comments below!

About jaymeepatterson

I started life with the belief that, in today's times, a woman must have a big-time career, be completely independent, and, essentially, be the sum of "I am woman, hear me roar." As I grew up the common dream of "prince charming" started worming its way into my brain. One day, in college, while I was planning the next move on my road toward a nursing career I realized something odd. I was in love. Soon after I was engaged and then married. Shortly into my marriage I realized two things. 1. I was not happy with what I was working toward. 2. Why can't the idea of an independent, chic, housewife exist? So, I created it! Well, maybe not, but I did start living it. As I was living this dream life a genius thought came to mind. Why not share this idea with the public? Share this notion of a chic woman who runs her home...from home! So here it is. Enjoy, ladies!
This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

